RSS

3 Ingredient Bean Salad

02 Jun

I love being able to just open the frig and grab lunch or a snack.  So when I was planning for my recent girls weekend I checked my cabinets and found a can of corn and a can of black beans.  I know the two go together well but what would I flavor them with?  I opened my frig to see what dressings I had open and instead I spotted some leftover salsa.

I drained and rinsed the black beans, drained the corn, threw both into a bowl and poured in the salsa (probably about 3/4 cup).  Mixed it all together and yum!  I love it, it takes only minutes to make and a cup makes a great filling, low calorie snack.

Since my first try I have also added green pepper, which didn’t compliment the flavor in my opinion just added extra work.  I also tried Roasted Garlic and Parmesan salad dressing instead of salsa.  That wasn’t bad, but I liked the salsa better.  Lastly, I tried a can of pre-seasoned black beans because they were on sale, they did add a bit of extra flavor but not enough to pay extra if the beans weren’t on sale.  That may be partly because I rinse my beans which I am sure takes away most of the extra seasoning.

3 Ingredient Bean Salad

1 can organic black beans

1 can organic yellow or sweet corn

3/4 – 1 cup of your favorite salsa, I haven’t found a favorite so I just buy what is on sale.

Rinse and drain beans.  Drain corn.  Mix all ingredients together.  Keep refrigerated.

It takes me about a week to eat and the salad holds up just fine the whole time.  I think this will be my go to recipe when I have last minute guests or invites to dinner.  As always posting a recipe has made me hungry, I think I’ll go make this right now.  I’m feeling adventurous though so I’m gonna through in a jalapeno!

This recipe was entered into the Gluten Free Salad Challenge at

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “3 Ingredient Bean Salad

  1. gfhomemaker

    June 8, 2011 at 9:55 PM

    This is so simple, but tasty. Thanks for participating in the salad challenge.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

