RSS

Sprouts Sandwich: My new favorite lunch

27 May

The main thing I find difficult with gluten free eating is the bread.  I have not found a bread alternative that compares to say freshly baked Italian bread. I do like the Ener-G brand though.  There breads at least have “real” bread texture.  Recently I have been eating Ener-G’s Light Rice Flax Loaf that I purchase at Woodman’s for around $4.

Sprouts are a food that I have always loved especially in subs and wraps.  Due to there expense and quick expiration they are rarely found at restaurants, unless the restaurant is noted for its vegetarian/organic foods.  On my recent trip to Outpost Foods I found a mixed container for sprouts, I think they called it Spring blend for just $2.50.  I bought some with the intention of having a nice big salad but I got so engrossed in looking for new gluten free foods at Outpost that I ran out of time and had to quick check out with what I had when I realized my hubby would be home in 30 minutes and I was 20 minutes away from home and hadn’t even started his birthday cake!  (I was thrilled to get home and find that my 16 yo son had baked the cake and already had it cooling when I got home.)

Sooo long story short, the next day I went to make myself lunch and all I had on hand that was gluten free was bread, mustard, sprouts, tuna, and some crackers.  I was in the mood for sprouts so I grabbed the bread, horseradish mustard, and sprouts.  I lightly toasted the bread, spread a generous amount of mustard and then piled on a huge amount of sprouts.  I took my first bite and immediately sent the sandwich down so I could start toasting the bread for another!  The sandwich was delicious and the 2 sandwich’s together were only about 220 calories.  So my new go to super-easy, super-quick lunch is a sprouts sandwich with a side of whatever fresh fruit/veggie I have on hand which for me is usually a bell pepper or grapes.

Alright so not that you need a recipe, but in case you skipped everything above and are just looking for the recipe…

Sprouts Sandwich “Recipe”

Ener-G Light Rice Flax Seed Bread, 2 slices

Your favorite brand of mustard, I used horseradish mustard

Fresh sprouts, I like when they are a mix of a couple of different seeds/flavors

Lightly toast bread, slather on mustard, top with sprouts, and enjoy!

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
