RSS

Tuna and Crackers

27 May

I cannot stomach watching my husband make a tuna sandwich.  The amount of mayo he uses to make his tuna “salad” is just gross!  I keep hearing all the health benefits of eating tuna and how it is a great low calorie protein source but the way most people/restaurants make tuna sandwiches undoes most, if not all, the health and low calories benefits.

So I decided to try something different, now this may not be new or groundbreaking for anyone else but I was thrilled.  I drained my can of tuna into my dogs bowls and I do mean drained…I squeeze the heck out of the can until it is dry.  In a bowl I mixed the tuna and a large amount of my oh so yummy horseradish mustard.  I just happened to have a couple of gluten free crackers on a plate (see my review of Blue Diamond Cheddar Cheese Nut Thins.) so I scooped some onto the cracker and OMG it was yummy.  The cheddar cheese cracker perfectly complimented the mustard/tuna mix.

As always I tabulated my calories to enter into my food log and I was thrilled to find that this highly nutritious and quite filling snack/light lunch was just 240 calories!

Tuna – 100 calories

Nut Thin Crackers – 16 crackers 130 calories

Mustard – 10 calories

Now I am hungry so I am going to go eat the last can of tuna before my hubby does…

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
