RSS

Oh Applebee’s…

11 Jun

I have rarely been to an Applebee’s and not gone away disappointed…I was visiting friends in the small town of West Bend so our restaurant choices were limited. Applebee’s was close and with their new soup, salad, and breadstick lunch buffet inexpensive also. I called ahead to see if any of their soups were gluten free but I was not shocked to be informed they weren’t. I went assuming I would just have the Fiesta Lime Chicken like always, but when I looked over the gluten free menu I saw Roasted Herb Potatoes and an idea formed.

I asked the waitress if it would be possible to substitute the Herb potatoes for the soup and bread on the buffet that I could not eat. I was thrilled when she said yes without hesitating and immediately thought it would end up being a great meal.

Boy was I wrong, each time they brought me a refill of my Grilled Shrimp and Spinach salad something was missing. My first refill was missing the almonds, the second and third refills were missing the shrimp. My friends also both had issues, they never got breadsticks with any of their refills and the kids meals were all missing their fries which we had to wait about 15 minutes to get.

So although the food was not bad the meal was tainted by all the issues and ended up being stressful instead of enjoyable.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2011 in Restaurant Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
