RSS

Pizza Crust Mix from Bob’s Red Mill

27 Jun

I won a bunch of gluten free products on the new Gluten Free Network. One of the products is the gluten free Pizza Crest from Bob’s Red Mill. The directions seemed a bit involved but ended up not being as bad as I thought, but not as easy as the super cheap Jiffy mix I was used to using before having to go gluten free.

After following the package directions I spread the dough onto two baking stones. The dough split in half filled both stones nicely leaving about a 1/4″ crust. The crusts have to bake for 7-9 minutes before the toppings are added.

While the crusts were cooking I took two small cans of tomato sauce and seasoned them a bit with of cumin. After cooking I spread a thin layer of sauce and had a ton of sauce left over so next time I think one can of sauce will suffice. Both crusts were then topped with shredded cheddar cheese.

At those point each pizza took on different toppings:

Meat Pizza = Topped with pepperoni and real bacon bits, then sprinkled lightly with another layer of cheese.

Muffaletta Pizza = Topped with drained Muffaletta and again a thin layer of cheese.

The pizzas then have to bake for an additional 15-18 minutes, which I misread so my pizzas only cooked for 12 minutes…they still turned out fine. Just a tad under done but at least they weren’t doughy. The crust has a great flavor and a nice texture. It did not even seem like a gluten free dough, it was quite similar in taste and texture to my beloved Jiffy mix actually.

I was a bit disappointed in the pepperoni pizza I thought it was blah, but my son loved it. The Muffaletta pizza however was mouthwatering. The Muffaletta was difficult to spread over the cheese so I think next time I will mix the Muffaletta with the tomato sauce and spread it on that way. I used almost the whole small jar (8 oz, I think) on one pizza which was probably to much so next time I am gonna try half the jar.

The Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pizza Crust Mix can be found at many grocers for around $4.99. You will also need 1 1/2″ cups water, 2 eggs, and 2 tbsp. Olive oil. There is also a dairy free option. Just substitute the eggs for 2 tbsp. Flaxseed Meal and 6 tbsp. water.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Gluten Free Product Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
