RSS

Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India

28 Jun

I saw the Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India on sale at Woodman’s on an endcap. It sounded yummy and was cheap so I figured I’d give it a try. I liked that the ingredients were all natural. The label lists the ingredients as water, tomato puree, whole black gram lentils, cream, butter, garlic, salt, ginger, and red chili powder.

The Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India is just heat and serve, so I dumped the contents into a bowl. It didn’t look like enough to fill me up so I defrosted some frozen corn and threw some into the Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India before heating it.

The flavor was good, just enough spice that it was hot without being to spicy (at least for me). I was not full after eating the entire package of the Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India and was shocked to find that the 10 oz serving was 350 calories, add in the cup of corn and I ended up with 420 calories.

Since the flavor was good and it was inexpensive I will definitely try the Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India again, however I will add some black beans along with the corn to help it be more filling. Since the Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India was so flavorful I don’t think the black beans will detract from the flavor at all.

The Black Gram Lentils Curry from Kitchens of India is a great take along meal since it is heat and serve and does not need to be refrigerated. In fact I think I will take it along next time we go camping.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Gluten Free Product Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
