RSS

Asian Helper Fried Rice from Betty Crocker – Now Gluten Free

07 Jul

I bought the Betty Crocker Asian Helper Chicken Fried Rice and Betty Crocker Asian Helper Beef Fried Rice. The plan was to have two separate dinners for the three of us. When I opened the package though I quickly realized that one package would not feed my and two hungry men. So I decided to make both.

The directions are simple to follow just like traditional Hamburger Helper. Each box required a pound of meat, 1 1/2 cups water, 1 tablespoon oil, and 2 eggs. The box said to boil for 20 minutes, but the rice was just a tad undone so if I ever make it again I will boil the rice for 22-25 minutes.

I personally liked the chicken version better but they may just be the meat I choice. I used a pre-seasoned ground turkey and I think it was to salty. My suspicion is that the two are pretty interchangable, I suspect that the formulas are quite similar.

Alright, so the flavor was fine. Nothing wonderful but not bad for being from a box. Fried rice is one of my favorite Asian dishes so I have had it from many, many restaurants. The Betty Crocker Asian Helper was quite similar to what you would find at a Chinese Buffet. It has flavor (but not a lot) and has veggies (but not a lot). I did like that the one pound of meat made for a good proportion of meat to rice which is one think that you usually don’t get at a restaurant.

Overall though I probably would not purchase again. The taste is fine but the nutritional value is just not there. I also noticed that even though the box says it is gluten free the ingredients list Monosodium Glutamate. Which I tried to avoid even before I had to eat gluten free. I was told by my doctor that MSG contains gluten so I am surprised to find it listed in the ingredients of a food that is labeled gluten free.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Gluten Free Product Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
