RSS

Tanka Bar from Native American Natural Foods

07 Jul

I love jerky and I love Buffalo meat so when I saw the Tanka Bar at a local store called Health Hut I snatched it up. It was a bit pricey but Buffalo and Jerky both usually are more expensive foods.

Once I read the package I was even more excited to try the Tanka Bar. The package said, “Spicy Pepper Blend: 100% Natural Buffalo Cranberry Bar.” Cranberry too? I just knew the Tanka Bar was going to be yummy!

After my first bite I was not disappointed. The flavors of the spices with the cranberry and buffalo melded together perfectly to make a slightly sweet, yet tart, with just a hint of spiciness meaty treat. I was surprised to find large chunks of cranberries. I figured the cranberry would be ground up into the meat.

The whole Tanka Bar is only 70 calories. With equal amounts of protein and carbs (7 grams) it won’t make a good workout recovery snack, but it does make a great anytime snack. I was starving when I remembered that I had the bar in my purse. The Tanka Bar took away just enough hunger that I could survive until lunch an hour later.

The Tanka Bar is similar to jerky but it is not as tough of a texture. It does however have a lot of sodium like traditional jerky so be careful if you are on a salt restricted diet.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Gluten Free Product Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
